Margaret Comerford Freda Award for Editorial Leadership

The Margaret Comerford Freda (MCF) Award for Editorial Leadership in Nursing Publication was established in 2012 and presented for the first time at the 2012 conference in Montreal, Quebec. The award was named in honor of the first recipient of the award and was developed by Shawn Kennedy, Chair, and committee members Peggy Chinn, Mickey Dougherty, Jan Fulton, Leslie Nicoll, and Kathy Schoonover-Schoffner. The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding achievements or contributions by an editor in pursuit of excellence in nursing publication.

  • The MCF Award for Editorial Leadership Committee for 2020: Julia Snethen. Committee members: Technical assistance provided by Leslie Nicoll.
  • Nominations for the MCF Award for Editorial Leadership for 2020 will open March 6, 2020 and will be accepted until July 10, 2020
  • See past recipients of the award here.
  • The MCF Award for Editorial Leadership is awarded only if the committee agrees that an individual among the candidates exemplifies the intent of the award.

Criteria – nominator must select and discuss, in no more than 100 words per criterion, how the nominee excels in 3 or more of the following criteria:

  • Advances the quality of nursing science, nursing scholarship, and/or improved quality of care for diverse patient populations;
  • Supports, mentors, and provides a role model for new editors and associate editors;
  • Demonstrates effective leadership for authors, reviewers, and editorial boards;
  • Develops boundary-spanning achievements, such as encouraging excellence in nursing scholarship; increasing the presence of nursing publications across global boundaries, especially in low- and middle-income countries; or advancing technology in publishing.
  • Champions a commitment to standards that foster ethical publishing and transparency;
  • Provides leadership in editorial or publishing associations (e.g., INANE, Council of Biology Editors, Committee on Publication Ethics, ICMJE, Society for Scholarly Publishing).

Nomination Instructions:

  • Any member of INANE may nominate another member for the MCF Leadership Award.
  • Nominator must select 3 or more of the criteria listed above and write a brief statement (no more than 100 words in each section) about how the nominee meets the criteria.
  • No self-nominations. An INANE member who wishes to be considered for the MCF Leadership Award must have a colleague complete the nomination.
  • Applications received after the due date will not be considered.
  • Applications must be submitted using the online form. The form will accept submissions when nominations open.

Selection of MCF Award for Editorial Leadership Recipient.

  • Candidates who meet the criteria will be ranked and the committee will decide on the award recipient by a consensus process.
  • The decision of the committee is final.

Questions? Please submit using the Contact Form. Questions will be directed to the chair of the awards committee.